

\*\*Under Embargo: Not for publication, broadcast or use on social media until Thursday 9 September 2021, 10.00am\*\*

## WRITTEN STATEMENT BY THE WELSH GOVERNMENT

TITLE Local Authority Electoral Boundary Review - Update

DATE 9 September 2021

BY Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government.

On 16 June I wrote to members to set out the current position in respect of the current programme of Electoral Arrangements Reviews. I also set out the process by which I intend to communicate my decisions about each area.

This included my commitment to provide regular updates to members through written statements. This is the sixth of these statements.

On 8 September I wrote to the Leader and Chief Executive of the County of Denbighshire to confirm my decision to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with modifications, in respect of the County of Denbighshire.

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales Final Recommendations Report for the County of Denbighshire can be found <u>here</u>. The modifications made to these recommendations are set out in the annex to this statement.

In addition, I wrote to the Leader and Chief Executive of the County of Pembrokeshire to confirm my decision to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with modifications, in respect of the County of Pembrokeshire.

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales Final Recommendations Report for the County of Pembrokeshire can be found <u>here</u>. The modifications made to these recommendations are set out in the annex to this statement.

Further information will be provided once I have made decisions about other areas.

This statement is being issued during recess in order to keep members informed. Should members wish me to make a further statement or to answer questions on this when the Senedd returns I would be happy to do so.

Modifications made to the Commission's Final recommendations for electoral arrangements in the following areas.

## County of Denbighshire

- The Commission proposed the name Efenechtyd be retained. The electoral ward will be given the single electoral name of Efenechdyd.
- The Commission proposed to the Welsh language name of Prestatyn Gallt Melyd. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Prestatyn Alltmelyd.
- The Commission proposed the Welsh language name of De Orllewin Prestatyn. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of De-orllewin Prestatyn.
- The Commission proposed to the Welsh language name of Dwyrain Y Rhyl. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of Dwyrain y Rhyl.
- The Commission proposed the Welsh language name of De Y Rhyl. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of De'r Rhyl.
- The Commission proposed the Welsh language name of De Orllewin Y Rhyl. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of De-orllewin y Rhyl
- The Commission proposed the Welsh language name of Gorllewin Y Rhyl. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of Gorllewin y Rhyl.
- The Commission proposed the Welsh language name of Trellewelyn Y Rhyl. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh name of Y Rhyl Trellewelyn.

## County of Pembrokeshire

- The Commission recommended Milford West be given the Welsh language name of Aberdaugleddau: Gorllewin. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gorllewin Aberdaugleddau.
- The Commission recommended Milford East be given the Welsh language name of Aberdaugleddau: Dwyrain. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Dwyrain Aberdaugleddau.
- The Commission recommended Milford: North be given the Welsh language name of Aberdaugleddau: Gogledd. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gogledd Aberdaugleddau.
- The Commission recommended Milford: Central be given the Welsh language name of Aberdaugleddau: Canol. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Canol Aberdaugleddau.
- The Commission recommended Narbeth: Rural be given the Welsh language name of Arberth: Gwledig. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Arbeth Wledig
- The Commission recommended Narbeth: Urban be given the Welsh language name of Arberth: Trefol. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Arberth Drefol.
- The Commission recommended the single electoral ward the name of The Havens. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Yr Aberoedd.

- The Commission recommended St Ishmael's be given the Welsh language name of Llanisan yn Rhos. The electoral ward will be given Welsh language name of Llanisan-yn-Rhos.
- The Commission recommended Pembroke Dock: Central be given the Welsh language name of Doc Penfro: Canol. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Canol Doc Penfro.
- The Commission recommended Pembroke Dock: Market be given the Welsh language name of Doc Penfro: Farchnad. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Doc Penfro: Y Farchnad.
- The Commission recommended Haverfordwest: Castle be given the Welsh language name of Hwlffordd: Castell. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Hwlffordd: Y Castell.
- The Commission recommended Haverfordwest: Priory be given the Welsh language name of Hwlffordd: Priordy. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Hwlffordd: Y Priordy.
- The Commission recommended Lampeter Velfrey be given the Welsh language name of Llanbedr Efelffre. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Llanbedr Felffre.
- The Commission recommended Neyland: East be given the Welsh language name of Neyland: Dwyrain. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Dwyrain Neyland.
- The Commission recommended Neyland: West be given the Welsh language name of Neyland: Gorllewin. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gorllewin Neyland.
- The Commission recommended Tenby: North be given the Welsh language name of Dinbych-y-Pysgod: Gogledd. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gogledd Dinbych-y-pysgod.
- The Commission recommended Tenby South be given the Welsh language name of Dinbych-y-Pysgod: De. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of De Dinbych-y-pysgod.
- The Commission recommended Fishguard North East be given the Welsh language name of Abergwaun: Gogledd Ddwyrain. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gogledd-ddwyrain Abergwaun.
- The Commission recommended Fishguard: North West be given the Welsh language name of Abergwaun: Gogledd Orllewin. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Gogledd-orllewin Abergwaun.